Style in Fly Fishing

Perfection is unattainable in fly-fishing.  As I view videos and tutorials on proper techniques in fly-fishing, I have come to realize that everyone has their own twist on things.  There is no one way to do things, and I like it like that.  Every fisherman has their own canvas to develop their own style, but at the same time every fly-fisherman is connected on some level.  It is almost viewed as a cult by outsiders but I see it differently.  I see it as a release from normality and an outlet to display talent that is hidden otherwise.  Yes, some of the intricacies of fly-fishing are probably unnecessary, but it adds flavor to an already flavorful hobby.

This week in my fly-fishing adventures I was able to tie two new flies that I can add to the fly box this fall.  I found these nymph patterns to be easier to tie than the dry flies I tied last week.  On a side note being able to take things from nature to tie a fly is amazing.  Then this awe is compounded by being able to catch something in nature by something produced from nature.  For example, I tied a pheasant tail nymph this week.  The main materials in this fly are feathers from a rooster pheasant, and peacock feathers from well, a peacock.  I also learned how to tie a hare’s ear nymph.  Which includes hair from a rabbit and feathers from a partridge.  It is the very connectivity of nature that leaves me in shock when these flies work.  I found myself tying the pheasant tail nymph with more ease than the hare’s ear, but here are the finished products.  (Pheasant tail on the right, hare’s ear on the left)

 

This week I also added to new knots to my repertoire.  They are the duncan loop and the non slip loop.  These knots are advantageous due to their strength and their ability to accurately present a fly to a fish.  The non slip loop is particularly important for streamers, so as to give the fly a natural motion as it is moved through the water.  The knots are shown here. (non-slip loop on the left, duncan loop on the right)

 

Fly fishing is so much more than just fishing, and I think that is why I love it.  There is so much preparation and practice in trying to catch a good fish with a fly rod, and sometimes I fail.  However, even when I fail I’m still glad that I am on the water.

Author: Zane Hesting

I am an education student at Chadron State College in Nebraska. My interests include fly fishing, reading books, watching movies, hanging out with family, and exploring.

2 thoughts on “Style in Fly Fishing”

  1. I should have read this first. Well done on tying flies! I’m so excited to read all your posts. I’m not sure how I missed your blog before. It’s great. Anything about fly fishing has me hooked. (See what I did there?) 🙂 Keep it up!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

