Education and PLN’S

I hadn’t the slightest idea of what a PLN was until this week.  Needless to say I was quite impressed of the various resources someone can accumulate through Twitter and Feedly.  I think my biggest takeaway from PLN’s is their simple message of sharing.  The ability for the online world to share so many resources, topics, and thoughts is special.  On top of that the ability to gather all of your favorite resources into one compact viewing area adds to the success of PLN’s.

In building my PLN I already had a good idea of the blogs I wanted to follow.  My independent learning project is about fly-fishing so I was able to easily locate the world’s top fly fishing blogs and follow them.  Since it is the height of the fly fishing season here in the states, I look forward to reviewing the stories of fisherman.  I also located six or seven of the top education blogs to follow on my Feedly account.  I expanded my PLN on Twitter by choosing a great number of people to follow in the the areas of literature, education, and fly fishing.  It will be interesting to see in the coming weeks who I will continue to keep on my feed, and who I will exchange for someone else.

The greater message of PLN’s is that in order to become your best educated self you must be resourceful.  Every person has an intellectual ceiling if they don’t interact with others.  Managing a PLN allows your intelligence to aspire to new levels, and you become a well rounded individual.  Plus, it can be very fun to interact with people when you share commonalities.  The article “How to Cultivate Your Personal Learning Network” offered great advice on how to “weed” your network.  As the weeks go by I can already see myself weeding out certain people that I followed because they won’t resonate with me.  I also found it interesting on the insider’s etiquette to interacting on blogs and twitter.  Much of it is common sense but it does appear that there are some unwritten rules.  In order for me to become recognized in my online social format I must follow these rules, and offer useful advice and information to the online learning community.

Since I enjoy reading books this was a tweet that I found to be enjoyable:

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” data-lang=”en”><p lang=”en” dir=”ltr”>Okay, who else dreams of living in a bookstore? (via <a href=”https://twitter.com/belcastr”>@belcastr</a&gt;) <a href=”https://t.co/MhzMOvKERH”>pic.twitter.com/MhzMOvKERH</a></p>&mdash; goodreads (@goodreads) <a href=”https://twitter.com/goodreads/status/779372337510621185″>September 23, 2016</a></blockquote>
//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

 

Author: Zane Hesting

I am an education student at Chadron State College in Nebraska. My interests include fly fishing, reading books, watching movies, hanging out with family, and exploring.

Leave a Reply

