Landing Issues #diglitclass

I hadn’t been to the stream in a few weeks so I decided go this weekend for the sake of this project, and for the sake of the scenery (in no particular order).  This week, especially, I had to learn to let go.  I just couldn’t land fish on a regular interval.  It’s not as if the fish were hitting particularly soft either.  Lately, it seems the trout are taking the flies lazily (if at all), and not with that late summer determinism: the kind of strike that will set the hook for you.  Since the trout are taking the flies soft now I have had to learn to do two things: cast efficiently so my leader unrolls flat, set the hook more precisely.  It’s nice to have this learning project to help hash out this stuff for me.  If I didn’t have to reflect on it I would probably just continue to flounder around the water with no new results.  Back on topic though I had a few nice fish get away this weekend, so I had to learn to let go.

Losing a fish due to circumstance, improper technique, and fate is tough to get over.  The time period dependent upon the predicted size of the fish.  I had two fish in particular get away from me this weekend.  The first one surprised me.  I was messing with my fly line, or something distracted me, at the time when the fish hit.  So I wasn’t too upset when it shook the hook and retreated to the bank.  The second one that got away I was ready for, though.  It was a good cast (even for me), and everything was in order.  I had the element of surprise (essential on a small stream), the right fly, and a good cast.  I saw the fish flash before it took the fly, and set the hook properly only to find my fly line coiled up beside me like a pile of rope.  The fish was gone, and a nice sized brown trout at that.  I’m not a fisherman who has to catch a lot of fish, but I would like to land the fish that I feel I deserve.  So I was standing there feeling a bit cheated before I realized how lucky I was to even be there, and the fish don’t have to cater to me.  At the heart of things I’m trying to catch these things for my entertainment, and nature might not be enlightened to this notion.  In light of this, I nodded my head and carried on upstream.

img950314
caught and released
Author: Zane Hesting

I am an education student at Chadron State College in Nebraska. My interests include fly fishing, reading books, watching movies, hanging out with family, and exploring.

3 thoughts on “Landing Issues #diglitclass”

  1. Those are frustrating days for sure. Fish are picky and fly fishing, at least to me, is like a puzzle and every time you go out you have to figure things out for that day, species, weather, season, etc. I have better luck setting hooks but have left a million dollars of flies in trees and stuck between rocks because I’m an over-eager caster. I’m sure you know this but I often get too excited and forget to keep my index finger on the line under the rod to keep it under control as I strip the line it and have missed many a fish that way. Keep enjoying where you’re at and heading upstream. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, it does seem like you have to make a new adjustment every time out. I’m getting to the point now where I can accurately recall which tree branches hold which flies of mine. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      1. Haha! I get it. I’m originally from Colorado and the St. Vrain and Big Thompson rivers have a gold mine of tackle with my name on it if you look hard enough.

        Like

Leave a Reply

