Tools For Creation #diglitclass

 

I enjoyed using Piktochart to create an advertising graphic.  I did encounter a major problem in uploading my own photos.  Every time I wanted to enter a picture of my own it would upload the picture horizontally instead of vertically, and I simply couldn’t figure out how to fix the problem.  Some of my images were capable of being uploaded properly, but the slight hitch did inhibit me from my photographic library.  All of the text and enlightenment features of this creation device seemed to be great.  Piktochart would essentially center and line everything up for you through a easy to use grid system.  The comic book creation website seemed to be very innovative, but I didn’t want to pay for it at the moment.  I’m a story guy, and Take 5 seemed to offer the best medium for this through its comic book creation.

There were many unique features that made this creation device easy to use, and I could foresee myself using it in the classroom.  One of the advantages it offers is the templates.  Creating a template is one of the most difficult things to do (at least for me) and since they are pre-made it easily allows students to work on content.  However, this could be a disadvantage to students who want to create the template and the content.  Even though the free templates are limited they are expansive enough to be able to be used for any subject area, even math due to the data charts available.  For someone like me who is not very tech savvy, it is nice to start out with something easy like this creation site in order to build into other things, such as digital storytelling.

In using these various online creation tools it helps to create another medium of learning.  It integrates technology well but it also allows for a diverse student body to create something that is their.  Their digital, artistic stamp is unique to them and can help students to show their creativity.  I also really like the practical side of online creation tools.  Advertising posters,  reports, and infographs all translate directly to the real world.  We discussed early in the class the multiple approaches to learning, and online creation websites would assist greatly in these approaches.  The poster can either highlight a larger project, or the poster can encompass a smaller project in and of itself.  My favorite part of this project is the real world connection that students can exercise.

western-fly-fis_908_22175f23e37b1ddd0ad8fb0c2a4fdf027abc375b.png

Author: Zane Hesting

I am an education student at Chadron State College in Nebraska. My interests include fly fishing, reading books, watching movies, hanging out with family, and exploring.

Leave a Reply

