It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #yalitlcass

I’m really happy that I read David Levithan’s “Every Day” this past week.  It is one of those books that asks big questions while delivering an easy to read narrative.  Some of the questions are still blurry to me, but this book was written in a unique technique which enhanced my reading comprehension ability.

This book answers the question of what it would be like to wake up in a different body…every day of your life.  Imagine you having no family, no friends, and no material possessions.  It’s just you.  Naturally the protagonist in this book is a bit sad at this fact, having reached the age of sixteen with nothing but scattered memories.  He wants to create memories for himself, he want to create a life.  So this character, who is named “A,” is floating along until he meets Rhiannon (a top five Fleetwood Mac song, no doubt), and the two have to figure out how to love one another in a world where A changes to another body every day.  It’s actually quite sad, but the side stories of how A helps the person whose body he finds himself in keep the narrative interesting.  For instance, he helps a young woman get help in order to prevent suicide, and helps various substance abuse users abstain from drug usage.  All of these are in line with young adult tropes.  The best part of the book is the character development of A.  As the book rolls along he realizes that he can’t be with Rhiannon and he has to find a way to avoid that pain while not abandoning Rhiannon.  This is where the climax of the book is held, and it does not disappoint.

Overall, this book is great simply because it has a fresh writing technique.  Very rarely can an author create a character within flat character, but this is what Levithan does in “Every Day.”  Usually I will be apprehensive in suggesting books to people because I know they won’t read it, but this is a book that everyone should read once.  It’s on various top young adult books of all time lists and for good reason.

Author: Zane Hesting

I am an education student at Chadron State College in Nebraska. My interests include fly fishing, reading books, watching movies, hanging out with family, and exploring.

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #yalitlcass”

  1. What an interesting idea for a novel! Your post has me really curious! Levithan is the co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson (which I adored), so I am definitely going to pick this one up. Thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

    1. It is a really interesting concept, and the beginning should snag you immediately. It gets a little placid in the middle, but the ending gives you a different kind of redemption for a young adult book, which I liked.

      Like

  2. This sounds like a book with a theme I haven’t read before, and I am all about that. I’m also all about that you mentioned Fleetwood Mac here, but I digress. I’ve read Leviathan before and I find his writing excellent, so you better believe I’m gonna check this one out.

    Like

  3. Glad you liked the book! I really like Levithan’s reading style and find it easy to read. Plus he always comes up with interesting topics. Going to have to track this one down. Thanks for the review!

    Like

  4. I can’t wait to read this one. It sounds like something completely different than anything I’ve ever read. It’s amazing to see how authors, and other artists, keep coming up with new ways to entertain us and make us think. I’m so thankful for your detailed review and look forward to reading this book. I read his partner book with John Green Will Grayson, Will Grayson and loved it. He definitely has a solid grasp on what like is like as a teen.

    Like

    1. I’ve heard Will Grayson was good, so I will have to give it a look! Yes, sometimes I have a cold hearted envy for how authors can just pull new topics and ideas that relate to our world from some secret area. I agree with your “teen comment,” because this book felt more like teen life than any I’ve read so far this year.

      Like

  5. I really have enjoyed David Levithan in the past.. have never heard of this novel by him! It sounds really interesting and I’m thinking I may have to add it to my growing to be read list. Have you read anything else by him lately or in the past?

    Like

    1. I have not read anything else by him, but I would be willing, any suggestions? I really liked this book because it detoured slightly from the happy ending approach while retaining some redemptive properties.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

